The History of Sanbusco Market Center
In the late 1800’s, Santa Fe Builders Supply Company was one of the first businesses built along the new ATS & F railroad line, accommodating freight transfer and commerce into Santa Fe. Nicknamed Sanbusco, the center thrived for many years and by 1942 grew to a cluster of warehouses and sheds totaling five acres. Eventually, the changes in railroad use left most of the structures abandoned and nearly condemned by the time they were purchased by Schepps New Mexico in 1984.
After removing 100 years worth of plaster, which had transformed the original building into the pueblo style, the western warehouse aesthetic was revealed. Today, Sanbusco Market Center stands as a unique shopping venue with its exposed tin roof accents and the original tile and brick manufactured at the state penitentiary.
In combination with the center’s new function as an emporium, comes a refreshing application of industrial style lighting, exposed infrastructure and a lively color scheme. An eclectic collection of restaurants, shops and offices now operate in a new era of commercial activity. This sector of central Santa Fe is attracting an increasing number of visitors and local residents. Its history and distinct architectural flair provide an authentic Santa Fe image for any business and the location is preferred for its proximity to downtown and the surrounding Guadalupe District.
Sanbusco Market Center is listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The New Mexico Register of Historic Places and The New Mexico Register of Cultural Places.
This Famous Logo was first used by Santa Fe Builders Supply Company (Sanbusco) in May, 1933